Why are you atheists so angry?

Once upon a time when I was in the process of switching one live to another, I’ve stumbled upon this gem – a video of Greta Christina’s speech on Skepticon 4. The video was made by Rob Lehr of Hambone Productions but it wasn’t the form that got to me. It was the content. And I swear on Hyperion – what Mrs. Christina says couldn’t be any more true. I was in awe, inspired, motivated and in high spirits. Well, not only because of that, but also due to the great bunch of people I’ve met on G+ atheism communities. But let’s not spoil them too much – the ones who should know – know.

So I decided to make this awesome video available to my countrymen, many of which do not speak English well enough to understand the message. Or at all for that matter.

The story of me doing that is long and boring. I’ll just mention that I picked the wrong file with timings and later down the road I had to actually write a program to merge two text files to get the proper text and proper timing.

I requested Mrs. Christina for authorization of the transcript, but I haven’t heard from her for over a month. Due to this fact and due to the fact that I don’t wish my work to be in vain I decided to publish it and see how it’s going.

So please enjoy the transcript. And if by chance you decide to use the transcript to translate it to your native language, it would be awesome if you let me know – maybe we can make dozen of different versions.

What Mrs. Christina talks about is of utmost importance and equal validity all around the world. In this day and age none of that should be happening and it’s my little input to try to make the video unnecessary.

Last but not least – I am in no way a professional translator, writer or whatever. Both the transcript as well as translation are purely amateur work and they should be treated as such. Anyway I wish you en enjoyable and fruitful read/watching. The film is really worth watching and is mandatory for each and every one of you out there who was forced to answer the “What’s the harm?” question even once. Mandatory!

Enjoy
Polish version of the article to be found here.

Credits that are due:

All copyrights belong to their respective holders:

The content of the video: (C)opyright by Greta Christina
http://freethoughtblogs.com/greta

The video of the speech: (C)opyright by Rob Lehr – Hambone Productions –
http://www.youtube.com/user/HambonePr…

Transcript and translation: (C)opyright by AdamZielinski
https://plus.google.com/u/0/108036189…

of the Google Community of Atheism – http://is.gd/googleatehism

Visit our Google Plus Page: http://is.gd/atheismcommunity

Nocturnal primate - dumb as I am now it used to be worse.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in activism, atheism, creative, religion, translations

Leave a Reply

